Is Coca Cola halal or haram? Many people want to know the truth. Coca Cola is a soft drink that has carbonated water and many other ingredients and flavorings. Many people find it tasty and also like to consume it with certain food items. The question is, is it halal or haram?
Coca Cola is a carbonated drink and is considered halal as it passes all the criteria of a drink that needs to be halal in the Muslim’s protocol. It does not contain any haram or animal-based ingredient so it is permissible for halal.
Muslims who follow Islam try to find most of their answers from the Hadith and the Quran. But since Coca Cola is a modern-day product, it would be difficult to get a direct answer. However, in this article, there is prompt information on whether Coca Cola is halal or haram.
Is Coca Cola Halal or Haram?
Coca Cola is halal as it is just a carbonated drink which is permissible to be consumed in Islam. There are a few versions of Coca-Cola. One is the normal sugary carbonated drink and the other is diet Coke which has less or zero sugar, then there is vanilla flavor too. All the versions are halal. Coca-Cola is a popular soft drink that is available in almost all parts of the world. The drink tastes good when served chilled or with ice.
Know a Few Things About Coca Cola
Coca Cola soft drink was introduced in the year 1886. It was introduced and promoted as a mood-enhancer drink. When the drink was introduced the main ingredients that it had were coca leaves, sugar and kola nuts.
Later, the recipe started getting evolved and with time, when it became a large-scale business, it was made and packed in a specific way. It was considered as halal even at that time and it is a halal beverage even today. It is such a popular drink that every day almost 1.9 billion servings are consumed.
What Ingredients Form Coca Cola?
This refreshing and bubbly soft drink has the following ingredients:
- Carbonated water
- Caramel color
- Fructose corn syrup
- Citric acid
- Phosphoric acid
- Natural flavors.
All these ingredients are considered as halal in Islam. As per food experts, in some parts of the world, Coca-Cola drink also contains a preservative called sodium benzoate. But again, it is also a halal food item. Coca Cola is a beverage that is free from animal products and dairy.
It is just the combination of items that are permitted to be used in halal food items. The way Coca-Cola is made is a guarded secret. The content and the measurements used will be a matter that the company keeps to itself. The way it is crafted is also a guarded secret.
Are All Coca Cola Products Permissible or Halal?
As discussed earlier, as Coca Cola started gaining popularity, the company came up with multiple products. It is important to understand which products are permissible and which are not. Here’s the list of popular Coca-Cola products that you need to know:
- The Coca Cola flagship product or the classic version
- Coca-Cola with zero sugar
- Coca-Cola cherry flavor
- Coca-Cola caffeine-free drink
- Coca Cola Vanilla
All these drinks are carbonated with the change in the recipe as in addition and removing sugar and some flavors. All the above drinks are popular and it is important to understand if they fall in the halal or haram category.
The good news is that all the items that Coca Cola sells are free from alcohol, animal products, and haram ingredients. That’s the reason why Coca-Cola is not banned in Islam.
Islamic Laws And Interpretation Of Carbonated Drinks
Ideally, Coca-Cola is a non-alcoholic product. But, if there’s a tiny part, it could be due to the ethanol. When tests were done for Coca Cola, it was revealed that the alcohol content is to the extent of 0.001% and hence there’s no sin in consuming this drink. Here’s what’s written in Hadith.
In view of the above mentioned Hadith, since the alcohol in coke is from
ethanol which is fermented from sugar cane mollasses and does not
intoxicate, it is permissible. However, if one is doubtful, he may exercise
precaution and abstain.
The above words mean that carbonated drinks are soft drinks and do not intoxicate a person and hence they are permissible in Islam.
The Ministry of Public Health explained:
The drinks also have no harmful microbes in them. Based on the information provided by the Ministry of Public Health, the Department of Fatwas declared the drinks permissible under Islamic law.
Mufti Hasanayn al-Makhluf also explained in this fatwa that all foods and drinks are assumed to be permissible under Islamic law unless found otherwise and if a person does not know the condition or ingredients of a food or beverage, its consumption is permitted until its nature is determined.
Source: Coke Fatwa
The above words say that carbonated drinks can be used by Islams as consumption is permitted because there is no haram ingredient in it.
The Final Thoughts
Looking into the ingredients that are there in Coca Cola and the kind of products the company produces, it can be concluded that there is no use of animal products or alcohol in the same. One can use it to enhance the taste of the meal by drinking soda or enjoying it for refreshment and mood enhancement. The fizzy taste can make you feel good. So, there’s no sin in consuming Coca-Cola. It is considered as a halal item in Islam.
Is Coca Cola Permissible in Islam?
Yes, Coca-Cola, the classic drink, and all its other products are permissible or halal in Islam. The drink is a carbonated drink and can be consumed for the sake of refreshment and taste.
What are the main ingredients in Coca Cola?
The main ingredients in Coca Cola include carbonated water, caffeine, caramel color, sugar, fructose corn syrup, citric acid, phosphoric acid, and natural flavors.
What does Islam say about Coca Cola? Can one drink it?
Islam says that carbonated drinks are allowed in Islam and hence Muslims can drink them as a refreshment. It is a drink that can give you a fizzy feel and that’s because of the presence of carbonated water in it.
Does Islam allow diet coke consumption?
Just like the classic coke, even diet coke is permitted to be consumed. All the Coca Cola products are halal.