Is Kitkat Halal or Haram? Latest Coverage In 2023

Reviewed by: Shakira Ahmed
Fact Checked by: Shahina Islam

Is Kitkat Halal or Haram?
Is Kitkat Halal or Haram?

Is Kitkat Halal: Are you stuck with, Is Kitkat Halal or haram? then search no further because we have bought a detailed description of factual data to help you decide whether or not eating KitKat chocolate is violating your religious beliefs.

The answer to the above question is not so simple. While KitKat does not contain any pork products, it does contain ethyl alcohol.

This alcohol is not drinkable or fermented alcohol and also does not exceed more than 1% of its content but Muslims are not allowed to consume alcohol in any percentages and kind therefore, Kitkat would be considered haram otherwise KitKat chocolate is perfectly halal.

Kitkat is the most beloved chocolate wafer in the market today. The four-layered crispy wafers filled with chocolate cream have taken the world by storm and are now one of the most popular snacks enjoyed by people of all ages.

Muslims, however, have been debating whether or not they can enjoy this delicious treat as it contains alcohol. We have gathered all the information you need to know about KitKat so that you can make an informed decision about whether or not to eat it.

Is Kitkat Halal Certified?

The answer is no, Kitkat is not halal certified. However, this does not mean that it is automatically haram. As we mentioned before, the key ingredient to look out for is alcohol. KitKat contains less than 1% of ethyl alcohol, which is not drinkable or fermented.

This is the same type of alcohol that is found in many other food items such as vanilla extract and some types of bread. Therefore, if you are comfortable consuming these other products, then you should not have a problem with eating KitKat as well.

Due to these circulating doubts among different communities, the company decided to post an official statement on its official Twitter account regarding the subject to calm their doubts.

Is Kitkat Halal tweeter answer

Ingredients In KitKat That May Be Haram

While the ethyl alcohol present in KitKat is not drinkable, other ingredients may be of concern to Muslims. These include:

– Milk: Some Muslims may not consume milk that has been taken from a non-halal animal.

– Cocoa butter: This is made from cocoa beans, which may contain traces of pork fat.

– Emulsifiers: These are used to keep the chocolate and cream filling from separating. Some emulsifiers are made from animals, so this is something to be aware of if you are concerned about consuming halal products.

Is KitKat Vegetarian Or Vegan?

Kitkat Chocolate does not contain any animal meat and is hence vegetarian in all forms. To be more aware of its content you must go through the packaging ingredient tag. Though the chocolate is not vegan since it contains milk as a significant element.

You may find the usual content of the chocolate as :

  • Sugar
  • Wheat Flour
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Chocolate
  • Lactose
  • Palm Kernel Oil
  • Milk Fat
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Yeast
  • Salt
  • Sodium Bicarbonate
is kitkat halal with kitkat ingredients
Kitkat ingredients

Does Kitkat Contain Pig?

Another common misconception is that all sorts of chocolates unless halal certified must contain pork or other haram animal meat. But this is also not the case. Chocolates can be either halal or haram, depending on the ingredients.

So, what about Kit Kats? Do they contain pig to make it haram?

The answer to this question depends on the country of origin. In most countries, Kit Kats are made with vegetable oils and are thus halal. However, in some countries, such as Singapore, Kit Kats are made with pig fat and are thus haram.

If you’re not sure whether the Kit Kats in your country is halal or haram, you can always check the ingredients list. If it contains pig fat, then it is not halal. In general, though, Kit Kats are a pretty safe bet when it comes to halal snacks.

Which Kitkat Flavours Halal?

Kitkat chocolates range in a vast group of flavours including-

  • KIT KAT banana
  • KIT KAT Mocha and Chocolate
  • KIT KAT Mint and Dark Chocolate
  • KIT KAT Milk Chocolate
  • KIT KAT Dark Chocolate
  • KIT KAT White Creme

Not all flavours are halal because of their alcohol and artificial flavour-inclusive recipes like KitKat Wine bars, but through our research into the product, it is concluded that most KitKat flavours are halal and do not contain any illegal animal meat or alcohol.

Read Also:

Are Takis Halal Or Haram?

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal Or Haram?

Is Kitkat Halal In Singapore?

Is Kitkat Halal In Singapore
Is Kitkat Halal In Singapore

Nestlé is a Swiss food and beverage company that produces a wide variety of food products, many of which are consumed by Muslims.

Nestlé has a policy of only using halal ingredients in its products, and all of its products are certified halal by Islamic authorities. However, there are some Muslims who believe that Nestlé products are not halal because the company uses alcohol in some of its products.

The use of alcohol in food products is a controversial issue, and there is much debate among Muslims about whether or not it is permissible. Some Muslims believe that alcohol is only permissible if it is used in small amounts and is completely evaporated during the cooking process. Others believe that any amount of alcohol is Haram (forbidden).

The majority of Islamic scholars believe that Nestlé products are halal and can be consumed by Muslims. However, it is always best to check with your local Islamic authority to be sure.


As you may have the answer, is KitKat halal or haram now there are always different opinions on the subject. Some say that it is halal because it does not contain pork or alcohol. Others say that it is haram because it contains dark chocolate, which may contain traces of pork.

It eventually depends on you. Whatever you decide to believe shall be the answer to your question is KitKat halal or haram?

In case you decide to abstain from KitKat and looking for a halal alternative to KitKat, you can try vegetarian dark chocolate. There are many brands of vegetarian dark chocolate that are halal-certified. You can also find alcohol-free dark chocolate, which is also halal.

If you are from Singapore, you can also check out halal-certified dark chocolate from local brands like Al-Ameen.

Lastly, remember that dark chocolate is generally healthier than milk chocolate, so it is a good choice for those who are looking for a healthy snack.

Leave a Comment