Are Hershey Kisses Halal Or Haram? Complete Detail

Reviewed by: Shakira Ahmed
Fact Checked by: Shahina Islam

Are Hershey Kisses Halal?
Are Hershey Kisses Halal

Are Hershey Kisses Halal: We understand how important a question is, Are Hershey Kisses halal? for you. Therefore we took this chance to research all the facts provided by the company along with the reviews submitted by customers. Hershey’s Kisses are made of cocoa, sugar, lecithin (an emulsifier), and vanillin (a flavor). It does not contain any animal by-products or alcohol.

Hershey’s Kisses are well known for its mini-wrapped chocolates in tinfoil. They have been storing hearts with their dark chocolates, white chocolates, and more since 1907.

Are Hershey Kisses Halal?

is Hershey's Kisses halal
Are Hershey’s Kisses Halal?

To briefly answer Are Hershey Kisses Halal, this doubt we conclude from our collected data that the company makes sure most of its products are Halal certified and their products do not contain any non-Halal ingredients such as Gelatine.

Hershey’s Kisses are also free from alcohol which makes them completely Halal-friendly but may contain traces of haram gelatine contradicting the former belief.

Make sure to always go through the ingredients list of the product. As mentioned earlier, Hershey’s Kisses are made of-

  • Cocoa
  • Sugar
  • Lecithin (an emulsifier)
  • Vanillin
  • Cocoa butter
  • Unsweetened chocolate
  • lecithin (soy),
  • Natural flavour].
  • Gelatine (May or may not contain)

All these flavors except Gelatine (if present) make it fit to be consumed by people following Halal diets.

Hershey kisses ingredients

Hershey’s not only uses halal ingredients but also has halal certification for some of its products like Hershey’s Kisses milk chocolate candy. So the answer to ‘Are Hershey Kisses Halal‘ is clear and cut Hershey Kisses is not certified halal. but some of their product like Hershey’s Kisses milk chocolate candy is halal certified.

This serves as proof for their authentication aligning with the dietary requirements of Muslims especially living in North America, who have a limited options range of halal chocolates.

Though it is advisable to always check the ingredient tag on the packaging before adding any product to your cart since manufacturing may vary according to location and flavors.

One of the best features of Hershey’s is their transparency with their products compared to other competing brands as they provide SmartLabels on the packages. A quick scan of the QR can get you access to detailed information of-

  • Nutrition percentages
  • Ingredients, that you can find under ingredient definitions
  • All the allergen information,
  • Claims information
  • Religious certifications
  • Bioengineered Food Disclosure Statements

Considering all the factors, Most Hershey’s Kisses products are a great option to enjoy with no worries about it being non-halal.To know more about the company’s official statements regarding the subject read the following blog post.

Is Hershey’s Chocolate Halal Or Haram?

Hershey’s chocolate is a popular choice for those looking for halal-certified confectionary. However, not all Hershey’s products are halal-certified. Some products under Hershey’s Kisses and Hershey’s Bliss chocolates contain ingredients that are not permissible under Islamic law, such as pork gelatine. Are Hershey Kisses Halal? no, it’s not, It contains Gelatine which is not permissible for halal products.

As a result, these products are not suitable for consumption by Muslims. Other Hershey’s products, such as Hershey’s cocoa powder and Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate chips halal-certified by IFANCA (Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America) and Jakim (the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia:

The responsible body of Malaysia Dietary ). These products do not contain any animal-derived ingredients and are therefore suitable for consumption by Muslims.

Do Hershey Kisses Have Gelatin?

Do Hershey Kisses Have Gelatin
Do Hershey Kisses Have Gelatin

Hershey’s Kisses are a quintessentially American candy, enjoyed by children and adults alike. But what exactly goes into these bite-sized treats? Surprisingly, the answer isn’t as simple as one might think.

Hershey’s Kisses do not contain gelatin, but they are not suitable for vegetarians or vegans due to the presence of other animal-derived ingredients.

Hershey’s Kisses are made with cocoa, sugar, lecithin (an emulsifying agent), and vanillin. Ingredients vary by flavor but can also include cocoa butter, unsweetened chocolate, natural flavors, and soy lecithin.

Gelatin is not included in the ingredients list for most Hershey products. However, they are not all halal certified. Hershey’s complies with Islamic dietary laws and uses kaushar, a plant-based gelling agent, instead of pork gelatine.

So whether you’re enjoying a Hershey’s Kiss for its flavor or its sentimental value, rest assured that it does not contain any gelatin.

Note: Gelatine is a protein derived from the collagen in animal skin and bones. It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, pharmaceuticals, and cosmetics. While gelatine is derived from both halal and haram sources, Chocolate products are more obvious towards using pork gelatine, which makes them haram.

Are Hershey’s Sprinkles And Cream Halal?

The Hershey’s Sprinkles ‘N’ cream bars are an ice-cream-inspired product with chocolate wrapped in sweet and tangy cake-flavored bright sprinkles, one can never say no to these yummy choco-bars.

The ingredient list of these chocolate bars is very similar to basic Hershey’s chocolate such as –

  • Traces Of Wheat
  • White Chocolate (92%)
  • Sugar
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Skimmed Milk Powder
  • Corn Syrup Solids
  • Lactose (Milk)
  • Vegetable Oil (Palm, and/or Shea, and/or Sunflower Oil)
  • Emulsifiers (Soya Lecithin (E322), Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate (E476) from Castor Bean Oil)
  • Artificial Flavour (Vanillin)
  • Colored Sugar Candy Sprinkles (8%)

No gelatine as you may see is used in the production of Hershey’s sprinkles and cream bars, so it is safe to eat by Muslims seeking Halal certification.

Here Are Some More Topics For You-

Is Reese’s Pieces Chocolate Halal Or Haram? Fully Explained

Are Oreos Halal Or Haram? Can This Be True In 2023

Can Caffeine Make Hershey’s Kisses Haram?

Are Hershey Kisses Halal? because it contains caffeine, So the answer is no, Caffeine is an ingredient that can be found in a variety of foods and beverages, including Hershey’s Kisses. Caffeine is not Haram as it naturally occurs in tea, coffee, and some leafy vegetables like spinach, Kale, and broccoli, Therefore, caffeine does not make Hershey’s Kisses haram.

However many Islamic preachers claim that foods that contain caffeine are considered haram, or forbidden. This is because caffeine is a stimulant that can have harmful effects on the body if it is present above a maximum percentage and considerably intoxicates your mental state.

how much caffeine is in chocolate

Top 10 Halal Certified Hershey’s Kisses Flavors

‘Are Hershey Kisses Halal’ is the most asked question In the Muslim world if you concern about which Hershey’s Kisses product is halal or not, Here is a list of the best halal Hershey’s Kisses chocolate bars-

1. Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate

2. Hershey’s Kisses White Creme

3. Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate & Almonds

4. Hershey’s Cookies ‘n’ Creme Cookies

5. Hershey’s Reese’s Pieces Candy

6. Hershey’s Kisses Crème de Menthe

7. Hershey’s Syrup Milk Chocolate & Toffee

8. Hershey’s S’mores Snack Mix

9. Hershey’s Milk Chocolate & Peanut Butter Chips

10. Hershey’s Cocoa with Marshmallow Bits and Chocolate Chips.

Wanna Know How Hershey Kisses Are Made? Check Out the Video Given Below-

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. Is Hershey’s Chocolate Chip Halal?

Ans- Yes, Hershey’s chocolate chip products are halal-friendly. They do not contain any animal-derived ingredients or alcohol, so they can be consumed by Muslims.

Q2. Are Hershey’s Kisses Vegan?

Ans- No, Hershey’s Kisses are not suitable for vegans because they contain ingredients derived from animals such as skimmed milk powder, butter, and emulsifiers.

Q3. Are Hershey’s Kisses Kosher?

Are Hershey Kisses Halal?

Ans- Yes, Hershey’s Kisses are kosher as they do not contain any animal-derived ingredients or alcohol.

Q4. Are Hershey’s Cookies And Cream Halal?

Ans- Yes, Hershey’s Cookies and Cream is halal-friendly along with all the above-mentioned best 10 halal Hershey’s chocolates.

Q5. Does Hershey’s Chocolate Have Pork?

Ans- No, Hershey’s chocolate does not contain pork. All of their chocolates are made without any animal-derived gelatine or alcohol making them suitable for Muslims.

Final Word

No wonder Hershey’s is so popular and consumed all across the globe. Do we hope that your query, Are Hershey kisses halal? was answered and all the resources provided in the blog post are helpful to you.

Hershey’s Kisses are widely known for their delightful mix of sweet and crunchy flavors. Most Hershey products are halal certified and their products do not contain any non-halal derivatives.

However, many Hershey products may contain ingredients like gelatine, which is derived from animals that may not be slaughtered according to Islamic diets, there are always other options to look for when buying Hershey products.

Also, Check:

Are Marshmallows Halal Or Haram? Complete Guide In 2023

Are Smarties Halal Or Haram? Get The Latest Insights In 2023

Kaamil Hussain

Kaamil is a dedicated individual who works tirelessly to provide accurate and reliable information about halal and haram activities for his community....

Leave a Comment