Are Takis Halal Or Haram? What About Its Flavors In 2023

Reviewed by: Shakira Ahmed
Fact Checked by: Shahina Islam

Are Takis Chips Halal?
Are Takis Chips Halal

Are Takis Halal or Haram: TAKIS chips are a popular snack and come in various delicious flavours, but Are TAKIS halal? Every other store around the street is equipped with these forever snack options, especially in North America, Canada, and such states. But Are Takis Halal, certified, and permissible for Muslims to eat is a question still unanswered. So, read on to know more.

We decided to take a tour of every little detail including the ingredient listing on the package along with what Barcel’s (Brand manufacturing TAKIS) official website has to say to decide that, Are Takis Halal or not.

In case they aren’t then what specific ingredient makes them haram and what are other alternate options with equally good taste and vibe? So read on to quench your thirst today!

Are Takis Halal Or Haram? Takis Chips Halal or Haram

To answer it on the basis of our study, Yes Takis chips are halal to consume although they are not technically halal-certified TAKIS spicy hot chips do not contain any of the ingredients that are forbidden in Islam and they also do not contain alcohol or pork products as per the information available to us from the TAKIS official website.

Now let us inform you why this rumor ever began in the first place, Carmine, a red coloring, is what caused this confusion. Many claims that TAKIS chips contain Carmine as an ingredient and it is obtained from the crushed Cochineal insects that are harvested mostly in South America.

However, none of the TAKIS flavours lists such an ingredient on their package declining all the accusations.

Are Takis Chips Halal

List Of All The Different Flavors Of Takis Chips

The TAKIS Brand offers a variety of flavours for its chips, including:

1. Takis Fuego

Takis Fuego

Credit: Ubuy India

Takis Fuego rolled tortilla chips are the taste of fire. These zesty chips are made with real chilli pepper and a bold blend of spices.

2. Takis Nitro

Takis Nitro

Credit: Amazon

Takis Nitro rolled tortilla chips shall make you taste the smoke. They’re made with real jalapeno peppers and a smoky blend of spices.

3. Takis Blue Heart

Takis Blue Heart

Credit: Amazon

Takis Blue Heart rolled tortilla chips make you taste sweetness. These sweet and tangy chips get their ultimate touch from real blueberry powder and a special blend of spices.

4. Takis Crunchy Fajitas

Takis Crunchy Fajitas

Credit: Amazon

Takis Crunchy Fajitas rolled tortilla chips take you on the adventure. These salty-sweet chips are made with real lime and a tangy blend of spices.

So to conclude, TAKIS Chips can be enjoyed by all Muslims as they do not contain any ingredients that are forbidden in Islam. However, TAKIS Chips are not halal-certified and therefore it is advisable to check the ingredient label before consuming them.

Read Also:-

Are Skittles Halal?

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal?

Are Pop Tarts Halal or Not?

TAKIS Chips Halal Alternates​

TAKIS Chips Halal Alternates
TAKIS Chips Halal Alternates

​​ ​​​

If you’re looking for an alternative to TAKIS Chips that carry a Halal certification, then you can try-

1. Tostitos® Baked Scoops

Tostitos® Baked Scoops are certified Halal, and they come in a variety of flavours. They also contain no trans fat or cholesterol and are made without preservatives.

2. Al Waha Cheese Curls

These delicious snacks are made with 100% real cheese and are certified Halal by the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America. They also contain no trans fat or cholesterol and come in four different flavours: Cheddar & Sour Cream, Tastes Like Bacon Bits, Nacho Cheese, and Pizza.

3. Lay’s® Classic Potato Chips

Lay’s® Classic potato chips have a Halal certification and are made with high-quality potatoes. They come in original, barbeque, and sour cream & onion flavours.

4. Pringles Original

Pringles Original chips are certified Halal, and they come in the classic original flavour. They are made with potatoes, vegetable oil, wheat starch, and salt.

5. SunChips® MultiGrain Snacks

SunChips® Multigrain snacks have a Halal certification, and they come in a variety of flavours. They’re made with whole-grain corn, sunflower oil, and a blend of spices.

6. Cheetos® Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks

Cheetos® Crunchy Cheese Flavored snacks have a Halal certification and come in two flavors: cheddar cheese and jalapeno cheddar. They are made with high-quality corn and sunflower oil and contain no artificial flavors.

Do TAKIS Chips Contain Carmine? Is It Halal?

Takis chips are a popular snack food, and their popularity is rather unaffected by the confusion about whether or not they are halal.

The main ingredient in question is carmine, which as we explained earlier, is derived from crushed insects. While this may not be appetizing to some, carmine is actually a common food additive and is considered halal by many Islamic scholars.

However, there is some disagreement on the matter, and some Muslims do avoid eating foods that contain carmine. For this reason, it is best to check with your local imam if you have any questions about whether Are Takis Halal or not.

Others find Takis chips to be delicious and harmless, and they continue to enjoy them without any concerns. Ultimately, whether or not to consume Takis chips or other foods containing carmine is a personal decision.

Does Takis Have Alcohol in Them?

Does Takis Have Alcohol in Them
Does Takis Have Alcohol in Them?

Takis do not contain alcohol if you may wonder. They are halal and Muslims are allowed to eat them.

Frequently Asked Questions: Are Takis Halal

Q1. Are TAKIS Halal In The USA?

Ans- Yes, TAKIS chips are halal in the USA. The TAKIS ingredients list does not include any substances that would make them forbidden for Muslims to eat. However, since TAKIS chips are not Halal-certified, it is advisable to check the ingredient label before consuming them.

Q2. Does TAKIS Have Gelatine?

Ans- No, TAKIS chips do not contain any gelatine. Gelatine is derived from animal collagen and is considered haram (forbidden) in Islam. TAKIS chips are made with vegetable oil, wheat starch, salt, and other ingredients that are permissible for Muslims to eat.

Q3. Does TAKIS Have Pork Derivatives?

Ans- No, TAKIS chips do not contain any pork derivatives. Their top 5 flavours do not have any animal-derived ingredients in them, making TAKIS chips suitable for Muslim consumers.

Q4. Is Takis Vegan?

Ans- No, TAKIS chips are not vegan. While TAKIS chips do not contain any animal-derived ingredients, they may have been processed on the same equipment as other animal products. Therefore, vegans should avoid TAKIS chips.

Q5. Does Takis Have Alcohol In Them?

Takis do not contain alcohol if you may wonder. They are halal and Muslims are allowed to eat them.

Are TAKIS Halal?

Final Word To Support, Are TAKIS Halal?

As you must have figured out by now, is Takis Haram or Halal, a yes or no question and cannot be answered authentically unless the company certifies its product with the official certification test?

Since TAKIS is not certified by any Islamic organizations, it is best to obtain an opinion from your preacher and family members.

We hope that this blog post was helpful to you. Keep cautious of what ingredients are used in the product in order to avoid the violation of your beliefs. Thanks for reading our blog post on our Takis halal.

Related Posts:-

Are Hot Cheetos Halal Or Haram?

Is Boba Halal Or Haram?

Leave a Comment