According to Islam Is Trident Gum Halal? The Best Advice In 2023

Reviewed by: Shakira Ahmed
Fact Checked by: Shahina Islam

Is Trident Gum Halal Or Not?
Is Trident Gum Halal Or Not?

Is Trident Gum Halal in Islam: How often have you questioned is trident gum halal in Islam? Many rarely pay much heed to what those little sweet and tangy gums are made of. Will they violate your belief in a halal diet? Do not worry! Only to answer all of your queries we have covered all the details here.

Read on to know why and which flavours of Trident gums should be avoided in case you are sticking to a halal diet.

Trident gum is a beloved chewing gum all around the world, containing great flavours that make you forget about everything else in your busy day.

But not everyone can enjoy it as it does contain pork gelatine and gelatin from animal sources which make it non-halal and unsuitable for certain religious beliefs.

Is Trident Gum Halal?

While it is true that Trident gum contains gelatine, not all of these gums contain pork gelatine. Trident Gum is made from sugar and corn syrup as their major ingredient, and pork or beef gelatine as the emulsifiers and binders.

So, if you’re wondering whether is Trident gum halal in Islam, it depends on the flavour you choose. Make sure to always check the ingredient list of the package. The gum is haram if it contains – pork gelatine, bovine gelatine(non-halal), porcine gelatine, pork from hooves, and horns.

Additional Information about is trident halal or haram-

  • Bovine gelatine is made from cows and is hence considered haram in case the animals are not a machine or stun slaughtered.
  • Porcine gelatine is made from pig skin and bones and is strictly prohibited by Muslims.
  • Most of the gelatine products are made from animal skin but there are also cases where the horns and feet of pigs are used making it unfit for a halal diet.

All Trident Gum halal Flavor explanation

Chewing gum from the well-known Trident brand is available in a variety of flavours. Muslims have debated whether Trident gum qualifies as halal. With the exception of Trident Splash and Trident Layers, which include gelatin made from a foundation of pork, the majority of flavours of Trident gum are halal.

The components used to create Trident gum are halal by definition and come from natural or artificial sources. On the other hand, Trident White gum isn’t halal-certified, meaning it’s probably made using pork gelatin.

While haram Trident gum contains substances that are prohibited by Islamic law, halal Trident gum is produced with ingredients that are. The presence of gelatin obtained from non-halal sources, such as pork, is the primary distinction between halal and haram Trident gum. 

To find out if the gum is halal, it is preferable to look at the ingredient list on the packaging. Although Trident products are not halal-approved, the majority of them are halal and vegan with the exception of Trident Splash and Trident Layer.

List Of All Ingredients In Trident Gums

Here are the ingredients of trident gums, so you can clarify your question about ‘Is trident gum halal’?

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Gum Base
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Glycerol-Ester of Wood Rosin
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Aspartame
  • Acesulfame K
  • BHT (to maintain freshness)
  • Gelatin (may or may not)

We can now say that trident gum is halal if it does not contain pork gelatine or any other non-halal ingredients. This factor is influenced by a higher percentage of the basis of which country is the product manufactured.

For all the Muslims in North America or Canada, finding halal trident gum is quite tough while for people in countries of Muslim majority, they are mostly halal certified with the symbol depicted as proof on the packaging.

When frequently asked about pork contamination in trident gums, the company posted an official statement on Twitter clearing the fact that none of their products is halal certified as they cannot share their sources of ingredients used.

Is Trident Gum Halal tweeter conversation

Does Trident Gum Have Pork Gelatine?

Is Trident Gum Halal in Islam? Trident gum is a popular brand of chewing gum that is available in many different flavours. With such popularity, doubts about whether or not are these gums halal are quite common.

After researching every nook and corner of the public statements made by Mondelēz, the manufacturer and owner of Trident Gum on the topic of ‘Is Trident Gum Halal or haram’, We can comfortably say that none of their flavours are either halal certified or vegetarian, implying there is a higher chance of it containing pork gelatine.

Although the gum is not vegetarian, it does not always contain pork gelatine. As mentioned earlier, Bovine gelatine is made from cow/beef, and it’s halal for Muslims. Many other flavours of Trident gums do not contain pork gelatine and can be enjoyed by any religious believer.

Quick Dictionary- What is Gelatine?

Pork gelatine is produced from the skin, bones, and connective tissue of pigs. It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food products, including Trident gum. Gelatine is what gives Trident gum its signature chewy texture.

Which Trident Gum Is Halal? – 10 Best Options

  1. TRIDENT TRIPLE MINT
  2. TRIDENT TROPICAL TWIST
  3. TRIDENT LAYERED FRUIT PUNCH
  4. TRIDENT SUGAR-FREE ORIGINAL
  5. TRIDENT WATERMELON SPLASH
  6. TRIDENT WHITE SPEARMINT
  7. TRIDENT TRIPLE BERRY SPECK
  8. TRIDENT ORIGINAL FLAVOR
  9. TRIDENT COCONUT MANGO
  10. TRIDENT PINEAPPLE PASSION FRUIT

So, there you have it! The 10 best halal Trident Gums that you can enjoy guilt-free. Wait, but what are the must-avoid flavours of Trident gums, relax! we have them too-

  • Peppermint Swirl
  • Strawberry with Lime

These two flavours are more probable to contain pork gelatine.

Read Also:-

Are Oreos Halal Or Haram?

Is Nutella Chocolate Spread Halal?


Are Sour Patch Kids Halal Or Haram?

Is Trident Gum Halal In Canada And USA?

Is Trident Gum Halal in Islam? Is Trident Gum Halal in Canada? When it comes to Trident gum in Canada and USA, the answer is not so straightforward. Trident gum sold in Canada is manufactured by Mondelēz International and the company has not provided any clarification on the issue of Is Trident Gum Halal or haram.

Is trident gum halal in the USA? Owing to the large-scale suppliers of meat in these nations being haram, the chances of pork or haram meat gelatine are more prominent.

It can be assumed that Trident gum sold in these nations is made with pork gelatine, making it haram for Muslims. However, Trident gum sold in other countries may be made with bovine or non-pork-based formulations, making it halal for consumption.

To ensure that Trident gum is free of pork-based ingredients or additives, those following a halal diet should check the label of the gum package to ensure that it does not contain any non-halal ingredients.

trident gum clarifies that is trident gum halal

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. Is Trident White Gum Halal?

Ans: Trident White gum is not halal certified, so it is likely that pork gelatine has been used in its production. Therefore, Muslims should avoid consuming Trident White gum.

Q2. Is Trident Splash Gum Halal?

Ans: Trident Splash gum does contain gelatine as an ingredient but it is not pork-derived. Although a miniature amount of alcohol is used as a flavour carrier that may make it haram according to many Islamic preachers.

Q3. Does Trident Gum Have Alcohol?

Ans: Trident gum does contain a very small amount of alcohol as a flavour carrier in many flavours. However, this is usually not enough to make it considered haram by Islamic standards.

Regardless, those following a strict halal lifestyle should check the label to ensure that it does not have any non-halal ingredients before consuming Trident gum.

Conclusion

We hope that your question is Trident gum halal in Islam is answered through all the resources provided in this blog post. “Spit it or don’t”. Let us know your answers.

In conclusion, we can say it is best to look at the company’s website or contact customer service and ask if their gums are halal-certified.

Trident would be happy to help you if its halal production is doubtful to you. Do check out their website for any further information about products or dietary questions in general. Happy chewing!

The verdict is still out on Trident gum and whether or it is halal. However, there are other brands of halal gum that you can try if you are looking for a gum that complies with Islamic law. Have you tried any of the other brands of halal gum? Why not clear it today?

Want to read more such topics, check these out:

Is TWIX Chocolate Halal or Haram? 

Are Sour Patch Kids Halal Or Not?


Is Rice Krispies Halal?

Leave a Comment