Are Sour Patch Kids Halal Or Haram? Things You Should Know [Guide 2023]

Reviewed by: Shakira Ahmed
Fact Checked by: Shahina Islam

Are Sour Patch Kids Halal
Are Sour Patch Kids Halal

Are Sour Patch Kids Halal: Muslims often question, Are Sour Patch Kids Halal or haram? It isn’t too rare since flicking the package and not being able to find the halal certification symbol can only raise doubts.

Like many other chewy candies and gummies, direct or indirect contamination of non-halal animal meat is quite common.

Are Sour Patch Kids Halal? Gelatin and artificial flavors are often derived from unlawful sources such as pork leading to the violation of strict halal diets and even vegan ones.

Sour Patch Kid which even adults enjoy is a sour-sweet, soft, and chewy candy that originated in Canada. Originally named ‘Mars Men‘ candy, has undergone several changes throughout the years.

These changes are even reflected in their ingredients due to which customers often raise concerns over the company’s boasted claim of them being vegan.

What Is Sour Patch Kids?

What Is Sour Patch Kids
What Is Sour Patch Kids

What Is Sour Patch Kids? A popular candy that has been around since the 1980s is sour patch kids. The distinctive sour-then-sweet taste of these tiny candies gives them a distinctive flavor. They tempt people of all ages to indulge in them because of their wide range of forms and sizes.

However, the transition between their sour and sweet flavors is what really distinguishes Sour Patch Kids. They have a strong sour flavor at first, but it rapidly gives way to a sweet aftertaste.

Are Sour Patch Kids Halal Or Haram?

The question is, are sour patch kids halal or haram then After all the research over the company’s official statements and ingredient listing on the packages, we can comfortably say that although Sour Path Kids are technically Halal-Certified. The sour treat contains no animal derivatives, artificial colors, or alcohol.

Are Sour Patch Kids Halal? Here comes a very important step that we strictly advise you to follow, check the ingredients used in the manufacturing of the product as it shall change based on the nation of production and demand of the majority. The sour-then-sweet gummies are made using-

  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Tartaric Acid, Citric Acid, And Natural And Artificial Flavour
ingredients of sour patch kids

All these non-halal elements render them vegan-friendly. However, some people still prefer to keep away from sour patch kids and other similar products as a precaution.

It is important to note that individual opinions may vary in such matters, so it’s best to discuss this with your local imam if you have doubts about sour patch kids being halal. He will be able to provide the most reliable answer for you.

Ingredients Of Sour Patch Kids

The following components are found in Sour Patch Kids candy:

  • Sugar
  • Invert sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Tartaric Acid
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural And Artificial Flavour
  • Yellow 6
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 5
  • Blue 1

Sugar, inverted sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, as well as a number of natural and synthetic flavors and colors, are used to make the candy. Berry, grape, lime, lemon, orange, peach, and blue raspberry are just a few of the flavor options for Sour Patch Kids.

Is Sour Patch Gum Halal?

Candy called Sour Patch Kids has a sour coating and is sweet and chewy. They are well-liked by both adults and kids. 

For Muslims who are concerned about eating halal foods, Sour Patch Kids are regarded as halal and safe to eat. This is due to the fact that they don’t include any alcohol or components produced from animals, and no haram procedures were used in their production. 

Sour Patch Kids’ natural components are halal, and the candy is suitable for vegans. But it’s crucial to remember that Sour Patch Kids aren’t yet halal-certified.

Does Sour Patch Kid Contain Gelatine?

Does Sour Patch Kid Contain Gelatine
Does Sour Patch Kid Contain Gelatine?

The Sour Patch Kid brand is owned by Mondelez International, Inc. and the sour patch kid candy was first introduced in the United States in 1972.

You must have seen these chewy tiny men-figured gummies on television before but are they permissible for Muslims? Are they made from pork-derived gelatine?

Well rest your doubts now and let us answer this for you. Gelatin is an ingredient that is derived from animal collagen (commonly cow and pig) and it is what gives most candies their chewy texture. Pork gelatine is the most common type of gelatine that is used in food.

The answer may surprise you. Contrary to what some people believe, Sour Patch Kids do not contain gelatine. While Sour Patch Kids do contain some gelatinous ingredients, these are plant-based substances such as agar and carrageenan.

As a result, the candy is suitable for vegetarians and those who avoid pork for religious reasons. So the next time you reach for a Sour Patch Kid, rest assured that you’re enjoying a delicious treat that’s completely gelatine-free!

Read Also:-

Is Jelly Belly And Bean Boozled Candy Halal? Complete Detail In 2023

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal Or Haram? Your Ultimate Guide 2023

Hear What PETA Has To Say On Sour Patch Kids

People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) endorses sour patch kids and has officially declared them as “accidentally vegan”.

Accidentally Vegan is a term coined for products that are not specifically produced with vegans in mind but do not contain any animal-derived ingredients and are thus suitable for vegans.

Are you now wondering if all vegan products are halal too, let us answer that as well. PETA defines vegan as products that do not contain any animal-derived ingredients or byproducts since no vegetarian product can be haram unless it does not contain any alcohol which we have already cross-checked in our ingredient list of Sour Patch Kids. So, sour patch kids are halal as well.

Are Sour Patch Kids Halal? PETA says on tweeter

Are Sour Patch Kids Halal Or Haram In Australia?

Since sour patch kids are not Halal-certified, it is important to note that individual opinions may vary in matters of “Are Sour Patch Kids Halal”.

Every country has its definition of halal and haram ingredients and sour patch kids produced in different countries can have a slight variation in their ingredients list as well as the manufacturing process adopted.

In Australia, sour patch kids are made with the same ingredients as those mentioned above. This means that Sour Patch Kids manufactured in Australia are also halal and vegan-friendly.

Halal Certified Alternates For Sour Patch Kids

If you are still not convinced and wish to only consume halal-certified candies then here is a list of the best candies as replacements that you can enjoy guilt-free.

  • Tropical Fruit Gummy Bears
  • Haribo Gold-Bear Snack Pack
  • Albanese World’s Best Sour Worms
  • sour patch Halal Certified candy
  • Vidal Mega Mix Fruit Gummi Bears
  • Madelaine Chocolate Covered Marshmallows
  • Gummy Bears By Black Forest
  • Albanese Mini Worms
  • Albanese Sour Smiles

Wanna Know More About Haram And Halal Candies- Watch The Video Given below

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. How Much Gelatin Is In A Sour Patch Kid?

Ans- There is no gelatin in sour patch kids. Instead, sour patch kids contain plant-based substitutes such as agar and carrageenan which are suitable substitutes for gelatine derived from animal sources.

Q2. Are Sour Patch Extreme Halal?

Ans- Yes, Sour Patch Extreme is halal. They contain no animal-derived ingredients and are made from plant-based substitutes such as agar and carrageenan instead of gelatine.

Q3. Are Sour Patch Kids Made From Pork?

Ans- No, sour patch kids are not made from pork. Pork is a type of animal-derived gelatine that is often used in food and sour patch kids do not contain any animal-derived ingredients, including pork.

Q4. Is Sour Patch Turkey Halal?

Ans- Yes, sour patch kids produced in Turkey are halal. They do not contain any animal-derived ingredients and have the same recipe as sour patch kids produced in other countries.

Related Posts:

Is Trolli Candy Halal Or Haram? Fun Facts In 2023

Are Smarties Halal Or Haram? Get The Latest Insights In 2023


We hope that this blog post was an ultimate guide for answering the, Are Sour Patch Kids halal? As you must have noticed that no clear-cut answer can be framed unless a food product is certified by an international body of food governance.

However, through all the necessary detailings it can be said that Sour Patch Kid is safe to eat as it does not contain any animal-derived ingredients or alcohol which makes sour patch halal in its way.

Furthermore, you can always choose from various alternate halal-certified sour treats if your conscious still is not at ease.

Happy snacking! 😀

Kaamil Hussain

Kaamil is a dedicated individual who works tirelessly to provide accurate and reliable information about halal and haram activities for his community....

Leave a Comment