In Islam Are Lucky Charms Halal Or Haram? Get Best Advise In 2023

Reviewed by: Shakira Ahmed
Fact Checked by: Shahina Islam

Are Lucky Charms Halal?

Are Lucky Charms Halal Or Haram: Lucky Charms are the popular choice of fruit loop cereal for kids and adults alike. But are lucky charms halal or haram? so here you will get the full detail about whether lucky charms are halal or not.

Unfortunately, lucky charms contain gelatin which is derived from animal sources and is not permissible for Muslim consumption. Gelatin-containing products are considered haram (forbidden) according to the Islamic dietary laws known as ‘halal.’ Therefore, lucky charms are not halal.

It is important to read labels before purchasing food items as many packaged products contain ingredients such as gelatin, which could be haram. Therefore, it is important to always check the labels and look for halal-certified products when shopping.

When in doubt, Muslims should err on the side of caution by avoiding lucky charms and other food items that may contain animal-derived ingredients. The only way to guarantee that a food is halal is to look for a certification from a reliable source.

This certification guarantees that the food was produced according to Islamic dietary laws, and can be consumed without worry.

This article seeks to provide information about lucky charms and their status in the halal diet. We hope it has been and will be helpful even further with little details!

Are Lucky Charms Halal Certified?

Are lucky charms halal in Islam? As the official website of Lucky Charms and their verified Twitter handler declares, they are Not Halal Certified and the very reason is nothing but pork gelatine and collagen used as an additive, reflecting no taste or color in the food item.

Are Lucky Charms Halal In Islam? It is important to remember that to ensure a product is halal, it must be certified by a reliable source. Therefore, always check labels and look for halal-certified products when shopping.

This will help ensure that lucky charms and other food items are not consumed if they are not permissible according to Islamic dietary laws.

Are Lucky Charms Halal certified

List All The Ingredients Used In Lucky Charm

The ingredients used in lucky charms include:

  • Whole Grain Oats
  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Modified Cornstarch
  • Dextrose
  • Trisodium Phosphate
  • Salt
  • Gelatin
  • Colouring (including Blue 1, Red 40, Yellow 5, and 6)
  • Natural And Artificial flavour
  • Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) is added to preserve freshness.
 Lucky Charms  ingredients

Are Lucky Charms Halal In Islam? It is clear from the list of ingredients that lucky charms contain pork gelatin, which is not permissible for Muslim consumption. Muslims should avoid consuming lucky charms and should look for halal-certified products when shopping.

This will ensure that lucky charms and other food items are not consumed if they are not permissible according to Islamic dietary laws.

This article includes everything including why and what makes Lucky charm haram. It helps provide information about lucky charms and their status in the halal diet. Be sure to read the entire article.

Read Also:-

Are Smarties Halal Or Haram? Get The Latest Insights In 2023

What Are The Must-Avoid Haram Lucky Charm Cereals?

Although none of the lucky charm’s cereals is halal certified and must be avoided by Muslims to keep intact the sanity of their halal diet, the idea may completely change in case the manufacturing took place in some Muslim majority nation where chances of it avoiding any sort of pork or haram meet are more common.

However certain flavors of Lucky Charm will never make it to the list of halal cereals, such as-

  • Original Lucky Charm
  • Chocolatey Lucky Charm
  • Boo Berry
  • Marshmallow Clusters
  • Minecraft Marshmallow
  • Lucky Charms
  • Frankenberry
  • Count Chocula

Halal alternatives for lucky charms

Halal Lucky Charms Alternative? For lucky charm lovers, there are some delicious halal-certified alternatives available in the markets. Here are some of them-

  1. Barbara’s Bakery Organic Cinnamon Puffins
  2. Nature’s Path Organic Honey’d Corn Flakes
  3. Post-Golden Crisp
  4. Nature’s Path Frosted Mini Wheat Cereal
  5. Mallow Drops Cereal
  6. Nestle Koko Krunch

Are Lucky Charms Halal In Islam? All these cereals are not only halal-certified but also delicious, crunchy, and healthy. They are made of natural ingredients and contain no artificial colors or flavors.

So if you’re looking for a lucky charm alternative that is vegan (some may not as they contain egg), organic, gluten-free, and still tasty, these cereals are worth trying out!

If you are wondering if these products contain gelatine or not then the answer can not be simply yes or no because many do not and many replace the pork gelatine with halal (plant-derived or halal beef-derived) gelatine.

Are Lucky Charms Halal In Malaysia?

Are Lucky Charms Halal In Islam? The lucky charms that are sold in Malaysia are not halal-certified, although the ingredients used in them may or may not contain pork or haram meats. This is because they have been manufactured outside of a Muslim-majority nation, thus making it difficult to ascertain whether all the ingredients used, do abide by Islamic dietary laws. Thus, lucky charms should be avoided, as there is no guarantee that they are halal.

lucky charms incredients

Is Lucky Charm Marshmallow halal?

No, lucky charms marshmallows are not halal-certified and must be avoided for ensuring a halal diet. The reason is the same, that lucky charm marshmallows contain pork gelatine as an additive in their ingredient list which makes them non-halal and hence should be strictly avoided.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Does Lucky Charms Use Pork Gelatin?

Ans- Yes, lucky charms use pork gelatin as an additive in their ingredients list, making them non-halal and thus should be avoided.

2. Are Lucky Charm Marshmallows Vegan?

Ans- No, lucky charm marshmallows are not vegan since they contain pork gelatine and therefore can not be considered a viable option for a vegan diet. Don’t lose heart though since many other companies are producing equally good vegan marshmallows.

3. Is Lucky Charms Vegetarian?

Ans- No, lucky charms are not considered vegetarian since they contain pork gelatine as an ingredient.

4. Is Lucky Charms Cereal Kosher?

Ans- No. As mentioned in earlier responses lucky charms cereal is not kosher as it contains pork gelatine in its ingredients list.

5. What Do Halal Gelatines Replace Pork With?

Ans- To make their products halal, companies often replace pork gelatine with either plant-derived or halal beef-derived gelatines. This ensures that the product is still palatable and meets the dietary requirements of Muslims as well.

Conclusion

Are lucky charms halal in Islam? As we conclude from all the research the answer to ‘Are Lucky Charms halal‘ is no. Hence, lucky charms should be avoided for ensuring a halal diet.

Halal alternatives of lucky charms such as Barbara’s Bakery Organic Cinnamon Puffins, Nature’s Path Organic Honey’d Corn Flakes, Post-Golden Crisp, Nature’s Path Frosted Mini Wheat Cereal, Mallow Drops Cereal, and Nestle Koko Krunch are all halal-certified and contain no pork gelatine or other haram meats.

Therefore lucky charms lovers can opt for these tasty options that abide by Islamic dietary laws. So, go ahead and enjoy these lucky charm alternatives with no guilt! Thanks for reading “Are Lucky Charms Halal”.

Also, Read:

Are Skittles Halal Or Haram? Everything You Need To Know [2023]

Is TWIX Chocolate Halal or Haram? All You Need To Know

Leave a Comment