Are Pop Tarts Halal Or Haram? Latest Update In 2023

Reviewed by: Shakira Ahmed
Fact Checked by: Shahina Islam

Are Pop Tarts Halal
Are Pop Tarts Halal or Haram

Are Pop Tarts Halal: While there is a lot of confusion over, Are Pop Tarts Halal? we decided to track down this beloved snack as our next research subject.

Pop tarts were first distributed in 1964, under Kellogg’s brand names, and have been people’s choice ever since. Most people don’t even question its status since they are too habitual of it already.

However, many who wish to stick to a strict halal battle daily to separate non-halal ingredients of daily consumed products one of which is surprisingly Pop-tarts.

Are pop tarts halal? For people living in countries with a majority of the population as Muslim, it is not much big of a problem as products are often halal and even certified with the status of processing but for others especially from America, and Canada it’s not that easier.

Are Pop Tarts Halal Or Haram?

To summon your query “Are Pop Tarts Halal” with an answer on the basis of our research on the product and its varieties and according to Kellogg’s official answer, Pop Tarts in the USA or Canada are not Halal certified. Though it cant be ultimately put in the category of Haram since some of Pop-Tart varieties contain no animal additives or alcohol and thence can be considered fit for Muslims.

Are pop tarts halal? The best thing to do is that if you wish to consume Pop-Tarts on a strictly halal diet then try buying Pop-Tarts from other countries like the UK, Australia, or Middle Eastern countries where Pop-Tarts are Halal certified.

Frosted Pop-tarts contain some animal-based products like gelatin which makes them Haram whereas Unfrosted Pop-tarts have no such additives and can be consumed but this doesn’t certify Pop-tarts as Halal products.

are pop tarts halal
are pop tarts vegan

Halal Ingredients In Ultimate Toaster Pastries: Pop Tarts!

Pop Tarts are made of different ingredients depending on their flavor. Some Pop-Tarts contain animal-based products, while others do not. Here is a list of the common Pop Tart ingredients:

  • Enriched Flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid)
  • Partially Hydrogenated Soybean and Cottonseed Oil
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Dextrose
  • Wheat Starch
  • Salt
  • Leavening (baking soda, sodium aluminum phosphate, monocalcium phosphate)
  • Corn Syrup
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Malted Barley Flour
  • Gelatin (only in Pop-Tarts with a frosting)
  • Annatto Extract Color
  • Red 40 Lake Color.

What Type Of Pop-Tarts have gelatin? Frosted Vs Unfrosted

There has been a lot of discussion on frosted and unfrosted pop tarts but none which clears the thin line difference between them. So we decided to mark our research with a remark on this too. Let us first clarify what are different frosted pop tarts produced by Kellogg’s-

  • Pop Tarts Frosted S’mores
  • Pop Tarts Frosted Strawberry
  • Pop Tarts Frosted Brown Sugar Cinnamon
  • Pop Tarts Frosted Blueberry, etc.

All of these frosted pop tarts contain gelatin in their ingredients. As specified by the company –

gelatin use in pop tarts
Kelloggs pop tarts varieties
Kelloggs flavored snacks

But Gelatine used here is not pork-derived it is rather a beef gelatine and contains no pork. As a result, it cannot be considered haram.

On the other hand, Pop-Tarts Unfrosted Toaster Pastries like-

  • Unfrosted Brown Sugar Cinnamon Pop Tarts
  • Unfrosted Pop Tart Strawberry
  • Pop-Tarts Unfrosted Banana, etc

.This category of pop tart Does not contain any animal-based product or gelatine in common and can be consumed under the halal diet.

So Pop Tarts Frosted varieties are not Halal while Pop Tarts Unfrosted varieties may or may not be Halal compliant depending on other aspects of its ingredients.

It is always advised to check the Pop Tart packaging to ensure the ingredient list aligns with your requirements.

To support their claim of Non-Gelatine unfrosted pop tarts, Kellogg's even assures its audience with a promise that none of the elements including equipment used in the process of making frosted ones are used or mixed with unfrosted ones. Are pop tarts halal? That literally proved the company's devotion to us at least!
Non-Gelatin frosted Pop-Tart

Read Also:-

Are Sour Patch Kids Halal Or Haram?

Is Root Beer Halal Or Haram? 

Is Jelly Belly And Bean Boozled Candy Halal?

Halal Pop Tarts Alternative

Halal Pop Tarts Alternative
Pop Tarts

1. Golden Grams Pop Tarts

2. Sayes Pop Tarts

3. Pop Tarts by Nestle

4. Pop-Tarts from Turkey

5. Pop Tarts by Nature’s Bakery

These Pop-Tarts mentioned above are Halal certified and a great alternative for Pop-Tarts that are not Halal certified. They are made with natural ingredients and can be consumed under a halal diet.

Pop Tarts from Turkey have been among Muslims’ favourites for years due to their quality, and taste. Why not try them today?

If you want to know more about “Are Pop Tarts Halal” make sure to check out the video given below

Are Pop Tarts Halal

Here Are Some More Topics For Your Interest-

Is Nutella Chocolate Spread Halal?

Are Hershey Kisses Halal Or Haram?

Are Oreos Halal Or Haram?

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Do Pop-Tarts have pork?

Ans- No, not all Pop-Tarts have pork. Pop-Tarts are made with an assortment of ingredients like wheat flour, partially hydrogenated soybean and/or cottonseed oil, high fructose corn syrup, dextrose, and artificial flavor. Pop Tarts Frosted varieties may contain animal-based products such as gelatin which is derived from beef. 

Pop Tarts Unfrosted varieties do not contain any animal-based product and may be suitable for a halal diet. Always check the Pop Tart packaging to ensure it aligns with your requirements.

2. Are Pop Tarts Halal?

Ans- No, Pop-Tarts are not Halal certified but they contain beef gelatine in Pop-Tarts Frosted varieties. It is always advised to check the Pop Tart packaging to ensure the ingredient list aligns with your requirements.

3. What Varieties Of Pop-Tarts Contain Pork?

Ans- Kellogg’s® cereal products
As these cereals contain marshmallow content as additives like Marshmallow Froot Loops cereal they contain pork gelatine.
Rice Krispies Treats® Squares

4. Do Strawberry Pop-Tarts Have Gelatin?

Ans- Yes, Pop Tarts Frosted Strawberry contains gelatin in its ingredients. As specified by the company, Gelatine used here is not pork-derived it is rather a beef gelatine and contains no pork.

5. Is Gelatin Halal or Haram?

Ans- Gelatin derived from pork is generally considered Haram while gelatin derived from beef is Halal. It is always advised to check the Pop Tart packaging to ensure it aligns with your requirements.

6. Are Pop-Tarts Vegan?

Ans- No, Pop-Tarts are not vegan as most Pop-Tarts contain at least one animal product or byproduct. They are not kosher either.

Final Review

We hope that Kellogg’s one day clears about, Are Pop Tarts Halal?

It would be great for their Muslim customers to have the most reliable conclusion. Surely, it can’t be that difficult to list the ingredients of all their products on their website. In the meantime, other brands like Lenny and Larry’s offer vegan, halal-certified options that are worth a try.

If you still have questions about whether or not your favorite pop tart flavor is permissible under Islamic law, we suggest contacting the manufacturer or checking other brands to be sure.

In case you want to avoid any potential confusion altogether, there are plenty of great halal-certified snacks on the market today – so why not clear it today?

Leave a Comment