Is Root Beer Halal Or Haram? Best Guide 2023

Reviewed by: Shakira Ahmed
Fact Checked by: Shahina Islam

Is Root Beer Halal?
Is Root Beer Halal?

Is Root Beer Halal Or Haram: If you want to know whether is root beer halal or not so you are in the right place here you will get the full detail about “Is root beer halal” or not.

How many times has it been when you questioned is Root beer halal? Well, you can rest now since we have everything you need to be aware of before consuming any intoxicating beer. If you are looking for beers containing not even minuscule alcohol or haram ingredients then 

Yes, Root beer is perfectly halal since it is made out of tree roots and contains no intoxicating percentages of alcohol but the debate on whether or not the beer shall contain any alcohol to make it halal is very complex, and to know in detail keep reading this blog post.

The main ingredient in a root beer is sassafras and its artificial derivative, which is a halal root. However, many brands of root beer also contain alcohol, which is not halal. Therefore, it is important to check the ingredients of your root beer before consuming it.

Is Root Beer Halal In Islam?

This is a question that many Muslims have been asking lately. With the popularity of root beer, there has been some confusion about its status in Islam.

The answer to “Is root beer halal” depends on a few factors.

  • Firstly, we need to determine if the root beer in question is alcoholic or non-alcoholic. If it is non-alcoholic, then it is most likely halal. However, if the root beer contains alcohol, then it would be considered haram.
  • Secondly, we need to consider the ingredients of the root beer. If the root beer contains any intoxicating substances, then it would be considered haram.

Based on these factors, we can say that most root beers are halal. However, it is always best to check the ingredients list to be sure.

Hear This Islamic Clarification Before Ordering Root Beer

Since we do not wish to mislead our readers and clear the grounds from the start. It is a fact that all the Islamic authorities preaching to the Muslim crowd address alcohol-containing beer as haram.

According to them any indulgence in selling, buying, or influencing others to consume beer is forbidden and should be avoided. The preachers quote their crowd with sections from the holy Quran saying,

They ask you about wine (khamr) and gambling. Say, “In them is great sin and [yet, some] benefit for people. But their sin is greater than their benefit.”

— Qur’an 2:219

Is Root Beer Alcoholic Or Non-Alcoholic?

Root beer is a type of soft drink containing tree-derived ingredients and no intoxicating material but the term “beer” attached to the name often concludes to misunderstandings and doubts among Islamic believers and every alcohol-avoiding consumer.

To answer the question no, root bears are non-alcoholic and may contain a minute rate of alcohol that is just not enough to make the drink intoxicating. But many Islamic leaders are vehemently against this notion and guide their followers to avoid root beers even if it contains a trickle of alcoholic content.

Should You Order “Hard” Root Bear For Halal Drink?

No. If you want to avoid haram drinks and stick to only non-intoxicating halal beers then you must not go for hard root beers since they contain a higher percentage of alcohol – close to 4-5% by volume.

So, it is best to check which kind of beer is available and what are its ingredients to stay true to your belief.

Is A&W Root Beer Halal

The short answer to this question is no. But it changes entirely according to your extent of faith.

Root beer is a type of beer that is brewed using the roots of certain plants. The main ingredient in a root beer is sassafras, which is a type of tree. Other ingredients in root beer can include molasses, honey, vanilla, and other spices.

For some believers, unless the drink contains any intoxicating amount of alcohol that can affect your mental state, it is considered halal. Though for some it is entirely incorrect and misleading.

They believe Root beer is haram (forbidden) because it contains alcohol. Alcohol is considered to be intoxicating and is therefore forbidden in Islam.

It is important to note that not all beers are considered to be intoxicating. For example, non-alcoholic beers are permissible in Islam. However, it is best to avoid root beer and other beers that contain alcohol.

Read Also:-

Is Prime Drink Halal Or Haram? Can Muslims Able To Drink It In 2023?

Is Monster Energy Drink Halal Or Haram? You Should Know In 2023

Ingredients Of A&W Root Beer

You can check below the list of A&W root beer ingredients.

Is Root Beer Halal or not? and its ingredients
  • Carbonated Water
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Caramel Colour
  • Sodium Benzoate (preservative)
  • Natural And Artificial Flavours
  • Quillaia Extract

Root Beer: Everything You Need To Know

Root beer originated back in the 19th century when the Appalachian settlers used sassafras tree roots for making tea. This tea gained popularity over time among different communities for its refreshing taste without containing any alcohol.

However, the recipe was later modified and was available in the alcoholic category too. Root beer history took another turn in 1960 when the FDA banned the sassafras trees from any eatable material because of its cancer-causing feasibility.

Later in those years, all the root beer manufacturers started using substitute substances in place of sassafras roots. Since then it has stayed in practice to use artificial sassafras flavoring instead.

Hence we can conclude that Root beer is not an alcoholic beverage, but it does contain traces of alcohol. This is because the roots of the plants that are used to make root beer often contain small amounts of alcohol. However, the amount of alcohol in a root beer is usually very small and is not enough to make the drink intoxicating.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Why Is Root Beer Haram?

Ans- Modern root beer is not alcoholic and is not forbidden by Islam. What is Beer Without Alcohol? Alcoholic beverages are forbidden in Islam, and drinking alcohol is not part of Islamic culture.

2. Is Root Beer Have Alcohol?

Ans- Root beer is often (but not always) a sweet, fizzy, caffeine-free nonalcoholic drink. The origin of root beer is in North America. When poured, it is typically thick and foamy. The majority of the root bear variants available on the market are nonalcoholic.

3. Is Beer Halal For Muslims?

Alcohol consumption is prohibited in Islam and is referred to as haram. Islamic scholars and Muslim religious leaders frequently point to a phrase in the Muslim holy book, the Quran, that refers to alcohol as “the work of Satan” and instructs Muslims to stay away from it as evidence for the prohibition.

Final Words

Have your question, Is Root beer halal been answered? We hope that the information and resources provided in the article were enough to conclude your doubts and have helped in either ordering the drink next time or declining it anyway.

There is some debate amongst Muslims as to whether or not root beer is halal. Well now question yourself whether or not Root beer is halal according to you.

Some Muslims argue that root beer is not halal because it contains traces of alcohol. Others argue that root beer is halal because it is not an alcoholic beverage and does not contain enough alcohol to make it intoxicating.

Ultimately, the decision of whether or not to drink root beer is a personal one and depends on the individual’s interpretation of Islamic law.

For more information, you can check out the video given below:

Related Posts:-

Is Red Bull Halal Or Haram? Strange Facts In 2023

Is Gfuel Halal or Haram? Can A Muslim Drink It?

Leave a Comment